image description

Klip Bloggin Sports

Bloggin Sports 24/7

Breaking: Connor McDavid youngest captain in NHL history

Anne-Marie Sorvin-USA TODAY Sports

The Edmonton Oilers named 19-year-old Connor McDavid as captain on Wednesday reported by

McDavid is the 15th captain in the Oilers' NHL history and the youngest in the history of the NHL (19 years, 266 days). He also captained Erie of the Ontario Hockey League and Team North America at the World Cup of Hockey 2016.

Edmonton selected McDavid with the No. 1 pick in the 2015 NHL Draft. He had 48 points (16 goals, 32 assists) in 45 games as a rookie and was a finalist for the Calder Trophy last season despite missing more than two months with a broken collarbone.

At 19 years and 266 days, McDavid surpasses Colorado captain Gabriel Landeskog (19 years, 286 days) as the youngest captain in NHL history. Landeskog, who became captain in 2012, was 11 days younger than Sidney Crosby when the Pittsburgh Penguins named him captain on May 31, 2007.

Forwards Milan Lucic, Jordan Eberle and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins were named alternates. The Oilers did not have a captain last season.

MLB Playoffs: Umpires selected for wildcard and divisional series

David Kohl-USA TODAY Sports

MLB's 2016 Wild Card Game and Division Series umpires are now available and posted here by umpire crew assignment. Where applicable, postseason umpires are listed by position as appearing in Game 1 of the series to which they are assigned. Umpire crew rotation for the best-of-five Division Series is clockwise in the infield and counterclockwise in the outfield, such that Game 1's home plate umpire will serve as Right Field umpire for Game Two, Left Field for Game 3, Third Base for Game 4, and Second Base for Game 5. The Replay Official does not join the on-field crew for any games of the Division Series.

AL Wild Card 'A' (American League / Baltimore Orioles @ Toronto Blue Jays)

HP: Gary Cederstrom -cc

1B: Ted Barrett*

2B: Eric Cooper

3B: Bill Welke

LF: David Rackley^

RF: Will Little^

NL Wild Card 'B' (National League / San Francisco Giants @ New York Mets)

HP: Mike Winters -cc

1B: Jeff Nelson*

2B: Mike Everitt

3B: Jim Wolf

LF: CB Bucknor

RF: Quinn Wolcott^

Wild Card Replay Officials (MLBAM / NY): Scott Barry and Mark Carlson

ALDS Crew A (ALWC Winner [BAL or TOR] @ Texas Rangers)

HP: Chad Fairchild

1B: Lance Barksdale

2B: Sam Holbrook

3B: Hunter Wendelstedt

LF: Joe West -cc

RF: Cory Blaser^

ALDS Crew B (Boston Red Sox @ Cleveland Indians)

HP: Brian Knight

1B: Phil Cuzzi

2B: Tony Randazzo

3B: Paul Emmel

LF: Bill Miller -cc

RF: Vic Carapazza

NLDS Crew A (NLWC Winner [SF or NYM] @ Chicago Cubs)

HP: Todd Tichenor

1B: Larry Vanover*

2B: Marvin Hudson

3B: Alan Porter

LF: John Hirschbeck -cc

RF: Mike Muchlinski^

NLDS Crew B (Los Angeles Dodgers @ Washington Nationals)

HP: Dan Bellino

1B: Tom Hallion*

2B: Chris Guccione

3B: Ron Kulpa

LF: Jeff Kellogg -cc

RF: Manny Gonzalez

Division Series Replay Officials (MLBAM): Chris Conroy, Kerwin Danley, Gerry Davis, Adrian Johnson

Breaking: Bob Davidson calls it a career after 28 seasons

Bob Davidson retires after 28 seasons Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

MLB veteran umpire Bob Davidson is retiring after a 28-year Major League career spanning over 3900 games, according to Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim press notes.

Bob Davidson has retired.

Davidson leaves the field after 28 years of service that spans either side of the turn-of-the-century Major League umpiring mass resignation, which resulted in Davidson's eight-year absence from Major League Baseball as he worked his way through the minor leagues to regain MLB status for the 2007 season. Davidson has officiated three All-Star Games, three Division Series, two League Championship Series and the 1992 World Series, in addition to the 2006 World Baseball Classic.